Winners of Pulsar Sports Award 2079

Feb 11, 2024

Kathmandu, February 11, 2024 – The Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) hosted the prestigious Pulsar Sports Award 2079 ceremony, spotlighting the exceptional talents and achievements of athletes across various disciplines in Nepal. The event, held on Sunday, brought together the country’s top sports personalities and officials to celebrate outstanding performances in the sporting arena.

Athletes of the Year Shine Bright

Athletics stars Deepak Adhikari and Rajpura Pachai were honored as the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, respectively. Their remarkable achievements in athletics have set them apart, showcasing their dedication and prowess in their sport. Adhikari edged out notable cricketers Rohit Kumar Poudel and Asif Seikh, while Pachai triumphed over competitors Pushpa Bhandari, also from athletics, and Anusa Malla from basketball. Both athletes were awarded the Bajaj Pulsar N 250 motorcycle for their accomplishments.

People’s Choice and Coaching Excellence Recognized

Sikka Suwal Shrestha, a table tennis player, captured the hearts of the nation to win the People’s Choice Award, accumulating the highest number of votes at 44.8 percent through a combination of online platforms and professional recommendations. In the coaching category, athletics coach Chandra Gurung was named the best coach of the year, surpassing counterparts in boxing and cricket, and was rewarded with a Pulsar N160 motorcycle for his contributions to the sport.

Awards for Emerging Talent and Lifetime Achievement

The ceremony also spotlighted emerging talents and veterans who have made significant contributions to sports in Nepal. Young cricket player Dev Khanal was recognized as the Youth Cricket Player of the Year, showcasing the bright future of cricket in the country. The NSJF Para Athlete Award was presented to Maiyan Bisunkhe, highlighting achievements in para-sports, while weightlifting pioneer Rajendra Kumar Pradhan was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his enduring contributions to Nepalese sports.

Special Awards and International Recognition

In addition to athlete accolades, the event also recognized individuals who have played pivotal roles in promoting sports culture in Nepal. Photojournalist and sports activist Sudarshan Ranjith was honored for his four decades of dedication to sports in Pokhara. On the international front, the Asian Sports Journalist Award was presented to Raymond Chu from Hong Kong, acknowledging excellence in sports journalism beyond Nepal’s borders.

A Night of Celebrations and Inspirations

The NSJF Pulsar Sports Award 2079 was a night of celebration, not just for the winners, but for the entire sports community in Nepal. It served as a reminder of the talent, hard work, and dedication required to excel in sports. The event was attended by dignitaries, including Abhimanyu Golchha, Director of Hansraj Hulaschand & Co. Pvt Ltd, and Youth and Sports Minister Dig Bahadur Limbu, who presented the awards to the winners.

As Nepal continues to nurture its sporting talents, the Pulsar Sports Award remains a beacon of inspiration, encouraging athletes to strive for excellence and achieve new heights in their respective fields.

Pulsar Sports Award 2079: Winners List

The Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) celebrated the achievements of Nepal’s top athletes at the Pulsar Sports Award 2079. Here’s a detailed list of the winners and the awards they received:

  1. Sportsman of the Year
    • Winner: Deepak Adhikari (Athletics)
    • Award: Bajaj Pulsar N 250 motorcycle
  2. Sportswoman of the Year
    • Winner: Rajpura Pachai (Athletics)
    • Award: Bajaj Pulsar N 250 motorcycle
  3. People’s Choice Award
    • Winner: Sikka Suwal Shrestha (Table Tennis)
    • Award: Bajaj Pulsar motorcycle
  4. Best Coach of the Year
    • Winner: Chandra Gurung (Athletics Coach)
    • Award: Pulsar N160 motorcycle
  5. Young Cricket Player of the Year
    • Winner: Dev Khanal (Cricket)
    • Award: Pulsar N160 motorcycle
  6. NSJF Para Athlete Award
    • Winner: Maiyan Bisunkhe
    • Award: Cash prize of Rs.50,000
  7. Lifetime Achievement Award
    • Winner: Rajendra Kumar Pradhan (Weightlifting)
    • Award: Cash prize of Rs.50,000
  8. Special Award for Sports Activism and Photography
    • Winner: Sudarshan Ranjith
    • Recognition: For four decades of sports activism in Pokhara
  9. Asian Sports Journalist Award
    • Winner: Raymond Chu (Hong Kong)